Type of Mudras


        In Scientific terms mudras provide a means to access and influence the unconsciousness reflexes and primal, instinctive habit patterns that originate in the primitive areas of the brain stem. They establish subtle, non-intellectual connection with these areas. Each mudra sets up a different link and has a correspondingly different effect on the body, mind and prana. Mudras are aimed to snap out the instinctive habit patterns and establish a more refined consciousness.



The yoga mudras are classified mainly in to five groups:


1.Hasta or Hand Mudras


        The hand mudras redirect the prana being emitted by the hands back into body. Mudras, which join the thumb and index finger, engage the motor cortex at a very subtle again. The mudras included in this category are:-


                1.Jnana Mudra(Psychic gesture of knowledge)

                2.Chin Mudra Psychic gesture of consciousness)

                3. Yoni Mudra(attitude of womb of source)

                4.Bhairava Mudra(fierce or terrifying attitude)

                5.Hridaya Mudra(heart gesture)


2.Mana or Head Mudras


        These mudras are practiced from an integral part of kundalini yoga and many used fr meditation in their own right. They utilize the eyes, ears, nose, tongue and lips. The mudras included in this category are :-


                1.Shambhavi Mudra (Eyebrow centre gazing)

                2.Nasikagra Drishti(nose tip gazing)

                3.Khechari Mudra (tongue lock)

                4.Kaki mudra (the crow’s beak)

                5.Shanmuki mudra(closing the seven gates)


3.Kaya or Postural Mudras


        These practices utilize physical postures combined with breathing and concentration. The Mudras include in this category are:-


                1.Prana mudra (Invocation of Energy)

                2.Vipareeta Karani Mudra(Inverted Psychic attitude)

                3.Yoga Mudra(Attitude of psychic union)

                3.Yoga Mudra(Attitude of psychic union)

                4. Manduki Mudra (Gesture of frog)

                5.Tadagi Mudra(Barreled abdomen technique)


4.Bandha or lock Mudra


        These practices combine mudra and bandha. They charge the system with prana and prepare it for kundalini awakening. The Mudras includes in this category are:


                1.Maha Mudra (great psychic attitude)

                2.Maha Bhedha Mudra(the great separating attitude)

                3.Maha vedha Mudra(the great piercing attitude)


5.Adhara or Perineal Mudra


        These techniques redirect prana from the lower centres to the brain. Mudras concerned with sublimating sexual energy are in this group. The mudras includes in this category are:


                1.Aswini Mudra(House gesture)

                2.Vajroli Mudra (thunderbolt Psychic )-(For men)

                3.Sahajoli Mudra(Spontaneous psychic attitude)(For women)


        Mudras engage substantial areas of the cerebral cortex. The comparatively large number of head and hand mudras reflects the fact that operation and interpretation of information combing in from these two areas occupies approximately with or after asanas pranayamas.